WATCH: Congressman TJ Cox Releases First Bill, Providing Immediate Relief to Federal Workers Hurt by Shutdown

January 17, 2019
Press Release
Immediate Financial Relief for Federal Employees Act Directs the US Treasury to Provide Zero Interest Loans to 800k Federal Workers

WASHINGTON – Today, Congressman TJ Cox (CA-21) introduced his first piece of legislation as a Member of Congress. The bill, the Immediate Financial Relief for Federal Employees Act, would require the U.S. Treasury, at the request of the employee, to issue 0% interest loans to the 800,000 federal workers who have been impacted by the government shutdown. The bill allows hundreds of thousands of workers across the country to immediately access funding to pay their bills and meet their financial obligations, and builds on the bipartisan bill passed last week through the House and Senate and was signed by the President that guarantees back pay for federal employees during the shutdown. Congressman Cox held a press conference in front of the Capitol, accompanied by some of the bill’s 84 original cosponsors, following his introduction of the bill on the House floor.  

“This is a commonsense piece of legislation that would provide immediate relief to the hundreds of thousands of federal employees who are suffering from this unnecessary shutdown,” said Representative TJ Cox. “Right now, families in every neighborhood and zip code, are being forced to decide how to pay their mortgages, heating bills, put food on the table, or even ration medicine. We must do whatever we can to protect the workers who are paying the price for this Administration’s cruelty – and this legislation, common practice at businesses across the country, aims to do just that.”

You can watch a recording of the press conference here.

The Immediate Financial Relief for Federal Employees Act:

  • Gives federal employees a 0.0% APR loan of up to $6,000 at their request
  • These loan would have no fees and accrue no interest, would not require a credit check, and the amount credited to the employee’s account would be automatically deducted once the government reopens and normal pay resumes.
  • Loans would be issued by the Department of the Treasury (USDT), and a clause is included in the bill that would authorize USDT to issue these loans even if the agency is shut down.

You can read the full text of the Immediate Financial Relief for Federal Employees Act here.

The bill has 84 original co-sponsors:  

  • Alma Adams (NC-12)
  • Pete Aguilar (CA-31)
  • Nanette Barragán (CA-44)
  • Ami Bera (CA-07)
  • Sanford Bishop (GA-02)
  • Suzanne Bonamici (OR-01)
  • Julia Brownley (CA-26)
  • Tony Cárdenas (CA-29)
  • Ed Case (HI-01)
  • Judy Chu (CA-27)
  • David Cicilline (RI-01)
  • Gil Cisneros (CA-39)
  • Yvette Clarke (NY-09)
  • J. Luis Correa (CA-46)
  • Jim Costa (CA-16)
  • Jason Crow (CO-06)
  • Susan Davis (CA-53)
  • Madeleine Dean (PA-04)
  • Mark DeSaunier (CA-11)
  • Debbie Dingell (MI-12)
  • Veronica Escobar (TX-16)
  • Anna Eshoo (CA-18)
  • Sylvia García (TX-29)
  • Jesús García (IL-04)
  • Jimmy Gomez (CA-34)
  • Josh Harder (CA-10)
  • Jahana Hayes (CT-05)
  • Katie Hill (CA-25)
  • Jared Huffman (CA-02)
  • Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18)
  • Ro Khanna (CA-17)
  • Susie Lee (NV-03)
  • Barbara Lee (CA-13)
  • Andy Levin (MI-09)
  • Mike Levin (CA-49)
  • Ted Lieu (CA-33)
  • Zoe Lofgren (CA-19)
  • Alan Lowenthal (CA-47)
  • Doris Matsui (CA-06)
  • Lucy McBath (GA-06)
  • Jerry McNerney (CA-09)
  • Grace Napolitano (CA-32)
  • Joe Neguse (CO-02)
  • Ilhan Omar (MN-05)
  • Jimmy Panetta (CA-20)
  • Chris Pappas (NH-01)
  • Scott Peters (CA-52)
  • Collin Peterson (MN-07)
  • Katie Porter (CA-45)
  • Max Rose (NY-11)
  • Harley Rouda (CA-48)
  • Lucille Roybal-Allard (CA-40)
  • Salud Carbajal (CA-24)
  • Linda Sanchez (CA-38)
  • Adam Schiff (CA-28)
  • Brad Sherman (CA-30)
  • Jackie Speier (CA-14)
  • Tom Suozzi (NY-03)
  • Eric Swalwell (CA-15)
  • Mark Takano (CA-41)
  • Mike Thompson (CA-05)
  • Rashida Tlaib (MI-13)
  • Norma Torres (CA-35)
  • David Trone (MD-06)
  • Juan Vargas (CA-51)
  • Marc Veasey (TX-33)
  • Maxine Waters (CA-43)
  • Susan Wild (PA-07)
  • Adam Smith (WA-09)
  • Debbie Mucarsel-Powell (FL-26)
  • C.A. Dutch (MD-2)
  • Ben Ray Luján (NM-3)
  • Lizzie Fletcher (TX-7)
  • Marcia Fudge (OH-11)
  • Mike Quigley (IL-5)
  • Darren Soto (FL-9)
  • Frederica S. Wilson (FL-24)
  • Steve Cohen (TN-9)
  • Daniel Lipinski (IL-3)
  • Ed Perlmutter (CO-7)
  • Rick Larsen (WA-2)
  • Jan Schakowsky (IL-9)
  • Joseph Morelle (NY-25)